• Storey Time
  • Posts
  • Available Now: Six-Figure Writer Course

Available Now: Six-Figure Writer Course

Here's how to get inbound leads (chapter 8).

Hey friend! Welcome to Storey Time. If you were forwarded this email, add your email below to make sure you receive my next issue in your inbox.

Did you know you can listen to the audio version of my newsletter?

If you’re short on time, and would rather listen to my newsletter, well, now you can.

This makes it easy for you to soak up all the value and info from my newsletter while:

  • Driving to work

  • Going for a walk

  • Cleaning at home

Want to land inbound clients?

With JUST your social media account?

Well today, you’re going to learn exactly that.

I’ll show you how to write content that attracts leads.

And how to properly split your time between inbound/outbound.

But first…

I have an announcement for you.

Two days ago, I launched my very first course:

Six-Figure Writer: 8 Proven Ways to Land Writing Clients Fast

Needless to say, I was blown away by the response.

In just 48 hours…

Over 500 people grabbed a copy of the $59 course (that I released for free).

If you haven’t gone through the course yet, you’re going to want to dive into it ASAP:

Grab the complete course here (direct link — no need to enter your email).

What’s so special about the course?

I cover all the different ways I’ve landed clients over the years. In-depth strategies. The best places you can find high-paying clients. The exact scripts and templates I use. The same outreach strategies I teach my one-on-one mentorship students.

It’s the most valuable guide I’ve ever created. And if you follow it, you’ll skip over months of guessing games and beginner mistakes, allowing you to get to $5-10k/month faster.

  • You can go through and read the text-based course via Notion.

  • You can watch the video course via YouTube.

  • You can listen to the audiobook on Spotify.

I guess at this point, all that’s left to do is to turn it into a physical book you can flip through with your hands.

Maybe one day…

Anyways, last week I emailed you chapter one of the course, Hot Outreach.

Hot Outreach is all about how you can land a client in 24-48 hours.

This week, I wanted to send you Pt. 8: Inbounds (Social). It’s all about how you can attract clients on social media via inbound leads. And it’s one of the most anticipated chapters.

Here’s Pt. 8: Inbounds (Social):

Inbounds.

It’s what we all want.

It’s what we’re all after.

It’s passive leads, baby.

Since starting on X on November 22, 2023…

I’ve got a few inbound copywriting opportunities.

And I’ve turned down all of them.

Why?

  • I don’t need any more copywriting work.

  • I don’t want any more copywriting clients.

  • I don’t try to land any writing clients via X.

This is how powerful inbound writing leads are:

—>I’m not even REMOTELY trying to get copywriting clients through Twitter.

I’m only here to teach copywriters and ghostwriters how to quit their 9 to 5 and fast-track to full-time.

As for my writing clients? I’ve found them all outside X in the seven other methods I share about in this guide.

On my Twitter account, ALL of my content is about helping writers. ALL of my profile is about that. ALL that I do on Twitter is about that.

And yet, somehow, people are trying to hire me to write for them.

Why?

One word:

Authority.

When you dive into a lane online and own it, you start to develop authority in a space.

I’m not even actively hunting down copywriting clients on Twitter, yet they’re coming my way in the DMs.

The reason is I’ve become somewhat of a micro authority in the copywriting space. Even though I’m only focused on teaching others how to do it, I’m indirectly attracting businesses who want a trusted copywriter.

One of the recent opportunities I turned down was a deal that included:

  • $2,000 USD upfront deposit

  • Revenue share

  • Equity

  • Retainer

To write some emails and landing page copy.

Why did I turn it down?

  1. I’m making enough money writing for my current writing clients.

  2. I’m not on Twitter to land more copy clients. I’m here to serve writers.

Inbounds work.

On my own X account, I’m getting inbound leads for copy work (even though I’m not trying to get that).

And, I’m getting plenty of inbound leads for my writing mentorship (and have a steady stream of new clients coming in every month).

So, yeah. Inbound works to get clients.

But…

And it’s a big BUT.

Here’s the problem with inbounds…

  • It takes a lot of time

  • It takes a lot of work

  • It takes away from more effective methods

You can definitely land copy clients with inbound.

In fact, one of my mentorship students, Chase, landed a client by making one post:

He implemented the give-first philosophy I teach to attract leads.

From this one post, he had 3 people reach out.

He landed 1 of them.

Guess what happened after he did the free welcome series for the client?

The client hired him and he’s now on a 4-figure retainer.

Another student of mine started posting about how he’d rewrite his target audience’s emails.

So far, he’s gotten the attention of multiple 20-50k following business owners who are now in talks with him.

And, he’s even getting inbound leads from people outside his niche from this type of post.

Why?

Because he’s willing to show his work in public. And, he’s good at what he does.

How to split time between inbound and other methods:

When you’re brand new (and haven’t landed a paid client yet), you should focus 90% of your “client-getting activities” on outbound outreach. So this includes all the other methods in this guide.

And, 10% on inbound.

So, let’s say you have 2 hours every day for client acquisition work.

You should spend about 1 hour 45 minutes outreaching to prospects, and about 15 minutes posting content on social media (like Twitter) and engaging with people.

TAKE ACTION:

👉 INBOUNDS

This is how I recommend you split your time between outbound and inbound:

90% on outbound.

10% on inbound.

So, you should actively be hunting for your clients.

This is especially important when you’re brand new.

I’ve made almost half a million dollars as a writer without landing a single inbound client. I got them all via outbound outreach (the other seven methods in this guide).

You might be waiting months for an inbound client to fall on your lap.

But, you can land a client via outreach in DAYS.

BONUS: Crafting Content That Attracts Clients

Make sure everything you do on social media is to attract your target client.

This is WAY easier when you niche and specialize (as I teach in my other free ebook, How I Landed My First Writing Client in 45 Days).

Example #1:

If you’re a landing page copywriter for finance companies, make that clear that you are a… “Finance landing page copywriter” all over your X account.

You content should revolve around 3 pillars in this example:

  • Copywriting tips

  • Landing page copywriting tips

  • Landing page copywriting tips for finance companies

And, as a bonus, mix in some personal content about your life. People want to follow PEOPLE. The more you can post personal stories and experiences related to your niche, the better.

Just remember, the more you solve problems in your specific lane, the more you own it as an authority.

Write content that attracts your ideal clientin th and solves their problems.

Example #2:

If you’re an email copywriter for fitness coaches, then split your content into 3 pillars: copywriting tips, email copywriting tips, and email copywriting tips for fitness coaches. Then, mix in some personal content like pictures of you working out, your favorite workout gear, and stories about your fitness journey (stuff related to your target niche).

Advice on Your Bio

Forget the “Journeying to $10k/mo as a copywriter” bio. Instead, take on the role of the “I help finance companies make more money with landing pages” bio.

If you’re targeting finance companies, they don’t care about your journey to $10k/month. They care about growing their business and want to know what you can do for them.

Solve problems for your target audience.

What problems do they face in their marketing? Their copy? Their content?

Solve those problems with information — through your posts.

When you solve your target audience’s problems with information…

You’ll show that you’re the authority in the space, making you and ideal candidate to hire (from their perspective).

BONUS TIP:

The sooner you can start showing off posts with samples, client results, testimonials, case studies, etc. the sooner you’ll land clients.

-Brandon “Inbound” Storey

P.S. Want to go through the rest of the course?

Grab the Six-Figure Writer course (for FREE) and start landing clients now.

Join the conversation

or to participate.