The Scariest Call I've Ever Had

And how it got me to full-time.

Hey friend! Welcome to Storey Time. If you’re new here, add your email below to make sure you receive my next issue in your inbox.

I was shaking.

Breathe, Brandon. Breathe.

I let out a long breath.

This is it. 

I was about to hop on my first call to pitch a copy client.

Not to mention, he wanted to do a video call.

Did I look too young?

Did I look professional enough?

What would he think about the background in my room?

I was so scared.

While I had done sales before, this felt different.

The reason?

It was the first time I wasn’t selling someone else’s product.

I was selling me.

My copywriting.

Did I really believe I knew what I was doing?

Did I believe I could actually help him?

Did I believe I could charge this guy?

Imposter syndrome never seemed so strong at this moment. 

So, I started reminding myself that I did know what I was doing.

I looked again at the audit I did on his site.

I looked at all of the weak spots:

  • The unclear offer

  • The missing call to action

  • The lack of social proof and other trust signals

I recounted everything I KNEW to be true about successful copy.

Then, I looked back at his site.

He needed my help. 

And I did know what I was doing.

I could help him.

When I got out of my own head...

And reminded myself that I could actually help this guy –– the fear and anxiety settled.

I knew I could make this guy’s copy better.

So…

I hopped on that call.

And, everything just flowed.

When pitching a potential client (and you’re feeling uncertain), just remember...

You’re there to help them.

Before selling your skills and services to others, you need to sell yourself... on you. 

It might sound weird, but show yourself your own testimonials and your samples.

Look at how far you've come already.

Then hop on that call.

Even if you don’t land the client, it’ll give you more confidence going into the next one.

And each call you take gets you that much closer to landing that paid client.

Brandon “shaking in my boots” Storey

P.S. I landed the client from that call. Signing him was a huge part of my first $5,000 month.

P.P.S. Over the weekend, two of my mentorship students landed their first client…

And one of them did it on his first call, just like I did (in the story above).

The best part?

They both landed their first client within 30 days.

I’m beyond proud of them.

How did they do it?

  • They got crystal clear on their unique positioning (niche/specialty)

  • They leveled up their copy every day with a second set of eyes

  • They pitched consistently — using my warm outreach strategy

And they were willing to invest their time into making it work.

If you’re struggling to land that first client…

And, you want help leveling up to a full-time income…

My 1:1 mentorship might be a good fit for you.

In it, you’ll get:

  • Weekly 1-hour calls with me

  • Unlimited audits to improve your copy

  • A proven roadmap to land your first client fast

There are only 2 out of 4 spots left for my March mentorship.

And, only serious applicants will be considered.

We start this week.

Doors closing soon.

If you want some more details…

Reply to this email with the word “mentorship” now.

Prices are going up next month.

Join the conversation

or to participate.