How to Land Two Clients in 30 Days

Without cold DMs or aggressive sales calls.

Hey friend! Welcome to Storey Time. If you’re new here, add your email below to make sure you receive my next issue in your inbox.

The other day, I received the best DM ever.

It was from a mentorship student of mine.

It was our fourth week working 1:1.

Here’s what he said:

I recently took a new writer under my wing — Chase DiMonda.

He had been learning copy for months but was struggling to land that first client.

He couldn’t figure out how to bridge the gap between his skillset and, well — the money those skills are worth.

Every new writer goes through this.

You spend weeks (if not months) learning.

Writing.

Putting in a ton of work.

But… struggling to connect the dots.

Wondering if it’s ever going to pan out.

Unsure of where to find paying clients.

And… how to land them once you find them.

Sometimes, you just need a bit more guidance.

During our four-week partnership, I helped Chase:

  • Find his niche

  • Refine his copy

  • Develop his pitch

  • Gather testimonials

  • Craft outreach strategies

  • Refine his email storytelling

  • Specialize his copy services

  • Establish a client intake funnel

  • Strategize on email marketing techniques

And, most importantly, in our fourth week together…

He landed his first client.

You know what fired me up even more?

A few days later…

Chase landed his second client.

The part that made me happiest?

Chase did it all while juggling his 9 to 5…

and taking care of his wife and two young kids.

Now, here's the thing…

  • We didn’t do any cold DMs

  • We didn’t do it with any aggressive sales calls

  • We didn’t have results to show these two clients before landing them

Instead, we focused on one core thing:

Building trust.

This is crucial because as a new writer, business owners don’t want to waste their money (or their time) on some newbie copywriter.

Even if you’re actually a great writer…

And… you know you can get them great results…

It’s still not enough.

So many new writers think they just need to tweak their cold DM pitch.

Or they just need more followers.

Or fancy up their X bio.

…And then, they’ll get paid.

They’re wrong.

You don’t need a bigger audience.

In 2019, I landed 20-30 clients before I ever touched social media.

So, what do you need?

You need to know how to show PROOF that you are the person for the job.

It’s something I learned very quickly when I was a new writer.

I tried getting clients but nothing clicked until I started to stack trust signals.

I started taking away perceived risk from their eyes.

And I started proving the value of my service before they handed me their money.

That’s the main thing that Chase and I worked on.

And that's when he landed not one… but two paid clients.

And he did it all in the fourth week of the mentorship program.

Now that Chase completed those initial projects with those two clients…

They’re coming back for more.

One of them handed him a second project to create a landing page.

The other client hired him again – to do a welcome email series (and ongoing weekly newsletters).

Chase landed a client on retainer! Recurring monthly income.

I’m super proud of him for it.

Now, he’s one step closer to quitting his 9 to 5 so he can have:

  • More income

  • More freedom

  • More time with his family

Just remember…

When you’re new, you have to prove your value quickly.

And relieve your prospect of as much risk as possible.

And this is only possible by building trust.

It feels impossible to do this at the start…

Especially without the right strategy in place.

If you’re struggling to land your first client…

Or you’ve got a few projects but still aren’t earning a full-time income yet…

I’ll help you by:

  • Uncovering your biggest roadblocks as a writer.

  • Sharing custom-tailored insights to help you land your first client.

  • Giving you proven tactics I’ve used as a full-time writer since 2019.

-Brandon “Build trust and get paid” Storey

P.S. I have limited spots available this week as several people have already booked calls with me… So check out a time that works for you now.

Reply

or to participate.