How to Escape A Bad Life

It all changed when I clicked that button.

Hey friend! Welcome to Storey Time. If you’re new here, add your email below to make sure you receive my next issue in your inbox.

I woke up.

Tired.

Desperate.

And, quite frankly — hopeless.

It was 7 am.

Monday morning.

And my wife and I were off to our miserable day job, together.

And this day… we knew we were in for an extra long day due to a sale at the shop.

“Time to put on a huge pot of coffee… This is gonna be a rough one.”

In 2018, we were working 12-hour days.

1.5-hour commute to work.

~9 hours on the job (if we were lucky).

And another hour-and-a-half drive back home.

It sucked.

For months we were dragged along…

With the golden carrot.

We weren’t there for wealth.

We were there for location independence.

You see, we had taken this job months ago with one glorious promise:

“You’ll be able to work from your laptops — right from home.”

Guess what?

It never happened.

And not only that…

But, it was an extremely toxic work environment.

The way certain co-workers treated other employees…

And even how they treated customers…

It was appalling.

We couldn’t wait to get out.

So, taking the 1.5-hour commute to work this day…

It wasn’t the same level of underlying dread we usually experienced.

It was absolute hell.

We had reached a breaking point.

I’m not going to go into details on what happened that day (at least not right now)…

But, I’ll just say this:

After we got home that day, that was it.

Game over.

I’m tired of living like this.

I’m tired of working for someone else.

I’m tired of having our dreams crushed over and over again.

Something has to change.

We have to do something.

Every now and then, just to stay hopeful, Jenn (my wife) and I would open up our laptops, and search up flights all over the world.

She’d often find herself searching for flights to her home-away-from-home, Australia.

I’d find myself searching for a getaway to a tropical paradise: Thailand, Bali, Mexico, Hawaii… you name it.

And then we saw it:

One-way flights from Vancouver, Canada to Sydney, Australia for $500 each.

It was December 2018…

But, the deal was for June 2019.

We look at each other.

We look back at her laptop.

“What if we go for a month? A road trip up the east coast. We could rent a campervan!”

It all sounded so good. For a moment, I had a glimmer of hope…

But, that quickly faded and reality set in.

"Jenn… they’re not going to let us leave for a month.”

But… I thought about it.

What if we didn’t ask for a month's vacation from work…

What if we didn’t come back to our jobs at all?

What if we quit entirely?

What if we finally escaped?

What if we started working online?

I thought about that horrible day at work.

  • How tired I was

  • How tired my wife was

  • How miserable we were

And how we were letting our dreams slip away with each year that passed.

In that moment, something welled up inside of me.

Something I’ve only felt a few times in my life before.

A rush of energy — a profound boldness.

Something deep within me shifted.

“I’m doing it.”

“What?”

“It’s done.”

“I booked the flights.”

“WHAT??!!”

And I really did.

Buying these flights wasn’t an impulse decision.

It was inevitable.

Sooner or later, we knew the only way out was to do something crazy.

We intentionally bought the one-way flight because deep down, we didn’t want to come back to our old life.

  • We wanted a new life

  • We wanted to travel

  • We wanted freedom

And we got it.

The best part?

We didn’t have to wait until June to experience that freedom.

The moment we booked those flights, something changed.

Something internally.

What was it?

We finally had hope.

This was us in bed right after we booked the flights on December 2, 2018.

We were ECSTATIC.

But…

There was one problem…

I had no idea what I was going to do for work.

I had no idea how I was going to make money online.

I had no idea how I was going to provide for my wife (and future kids).

So, from that moment on, I started searching.

After multiple failed attempts at different businesses (dropshipping, web development, bookkeeping)…

I went back to the drawing board.

And eventually came across copywriting.

I was hesitant about writing at first. But, the more I dove in, the more I loved it.

This time — with this business venture — something was different.

This time, I had my back against the wall.

I had six months to figure it out.

Because when June 2019 came, we were hopping on that flight to get our freedom, no matter what.

So, I gave it my all.

Six weeks later, I landed my first client.

In the next two weeks, I got two more.

So, I took the next logical step:

I quit my job.

And when June came around, we drove to the Vancouver airport.

We hopped on that flight.

And we flew for 16 hours to the other side of the world.

And left our old world behind.

Touching down in Sydney felt like discovering a new world.

A fresh start.

Newfound freedom.

We made it.

And, we spent the next 40 days doing exactly what we dreamed of six months prior…

We road-tripped up the east coast of Australia: from Sydney to Port Douglas

How did we make this work?

We went after our dreams.

And gave ourselves no other option but to make it.

That pressure fueled me to learn everything I could about copy as quickly as humanly possible.

And it got me my first client quickly — and after the first, the next ones started rolling in one after the other like a snowball.

Now, I’ve been copywriting and ghostwriting for five years.

And, it’s been the greatest blessing being able to live anywhere, provide for my family of four, and have the freedom and flexibility to work when I want.

I don’t say these things to boast, but to show you what’s possible.

If you’re stuck in a rut…

  • Working for someone else

  • Making less money than you want

  • Unable to travel wherever you want

  • Trapped in a job you can’t get out of

With no hope in sight…

Living a life you didn’t dream of…

There’s only one way out:

You have to be bold.

You have to go all in.

And you have to overcome your fears.

Just think… when you’re 80 years old, do you really want to look back on your life and wonder, “What if?”

Or, do you want to look back full of joy that you took the plunge?

I know what kind of life I plan on looking back on when I’m 80.

So, are you ready to make a change in your life?

While there are dozens of paths to take, I can only teach you the one I’ve done:

Copywriting.

And, you may be wondering, “Well how do I know I can get that same level of freedom with copywriting?”

Because it didn’t just work for me.

It worked for Chase too.

After just three months in my mentorship program…

He was able to quit his job and is now copywriting full-time (giving him the freedom to be with his wife and two little girls more than ever).

And, right now, I’m offering a few spots in my one-on-one mentorship to four dedicated writers for March.

If you’re interested in hearing more, then check out this short video of Chase telling the story of how he was able to land enough clients to quit his job through the mentorship.

P.S. There are only two (out of four) spots left in my March mentorship.

Check out the video of Chase now to see what he has to say about the program.

Join the conversation

or to participate.