• Storey Time
  • Posts
  • I Wrote Copy for a Highway Billboard & Failed

I Wrote Copy for a Highway Billboard & Failed

Why knowing how to write well isn't enough.

Hey friend! Welcome to Storey Time. If you’re new here, add your email below to make sure you receive my next issue in your inbox.

Did you know you can listen to the audio version of my newsletter?

If you’re short on time, and would rather listen to my newsletter, well, now you can.

This makes it easy for you to soak up all the value and info from my newsletter while:

  • Driving to work

  • Going for a walk

  • Cleaning at home

A few months ago, I did copywriting work on a giant billboard.

And I completely failed.

Here’s what happened…

Back in December, I was helping a friend with a bigger project.

A billboard on the side of the highway.

They wanted my feedback.

I took a look.

And, I let them know it had too many words.

There were two messages within the copy.

It was confusing.

“Stick to one message. It’ll be more effective. You’re going to confuse people by putting both on.”

“Plus, it’s too much to read too quickly, especially as people are driving by and only have half a second to read it.”

So I asked, “What’s your goal? What’s the MAIN thing you’re trying to say?”

And they responded, “Well, we want to do A…but we also really want to do B too.”

I shared more on why they should change it, and just keep B.

So, I asked my other friend who does graphic design to whip up two versions: one with the two messages (like the client wanted) and one with the single message that I recommended.

I thought, “Oh they’re totally going to see the version I’m suggesting once it’s all fancied up with design and THEN they’ll be sold.”

Nope.

Handed it to them. They still wanted their original version.

It was frustrating, and a little humiliating.

It leaves a terrible feeling in your gut when you KNOW your advice will help a client, but they just won’t take it.

So, what did I do?

Get angry at them?

Cry about it?

Complain?

Blame them for not taking the advice?

I’m not going to lie, it was tempting.

But, nope.

Instead, I swallowed my pride.

Instead of getting angry at them, I looked at myself and realized I was the one who failed to sell my friend on my advice.

I knew the advice would help them.

And I failed to persuade them.

You see, building a writing business where you’re doing client work isn’t JUST about becoming a better copywriter or ghostwriter.

Mastering that core skill isn’t a guarantee that you’ll earn a solid income.

In fact, there are copywriters with average writing skills who are earning 10x more than copywriters with twice the writing skills.

Read that again.

If you want to get ahead as a writer and actually earn a solid income, you need to learn more than just how to write well.

You need to build secondary skills (that are just as important) and become a full stack writer.

You need to know:

  • Sales

  • Marketing

  • Speaking skills

  • And other freelancing skills

You see, I failed to sell the idea to my friend.

Even though I’ve been writing full-time for years and earn six-figures per year, I still make mistakes and am still learning.

So, guess what I’m going to work on more?

My sales and speaking skills.

I might know how to sell with my words. But, I KNOW I can up my game when it comes to face to face sales and client conversations.

Sometimes your client just won’t take your advice.

As frustrating as it is to be in this situation, the reality is that this happens sometimes.

When you fail (which will happen along the way)…

Rather than blaming others—which is our natural inclination—start by looking inwards.

It’s not easy. It’s humbling. And it doesn’t feel good.

But, having this mindset will help you get 1% better every day, allowing you to succeed in the long run.

No one has ever built a sustainable writing business on their writing skills alone.

You need to know how to land clients, sell clients on your ideas, and keep them happy.

When you build writing skills and client skills, that’s when you’ll hit $5-10k/month and beyond.

Brandon “The Billboard Blunder” Storey

P.S. My April mentorship is closed (all 4 spots were filled).

I recently opened up my waitlist for May and 1/4 spots are taken.

If you’re a new copywriter trying to land your first client…

Or you’ve landed a few here and there and want extra help scaling to $5k+/month…

Then you might be interested in my 1:1 coaching where I work side-by-side with you to fast-track you to full-time

If you’d rather save yourself 3-6 months of frustration, trying to navigate the freelance writing path alone, then here’s what you’ll get with my one month coaching program:

4 x 1:1 Calls With Me (1-Hour Every Week)

We’ll go over whatever you need at the moment (positioning, copy lessons, live copy audits, outreach strategies, what to do on sales calls with prospects.)

Unlimited Copy Audits

Every single day, you can send me your copy and I’ll send you a Loom video breaking down your copy with feedback and optimization tips to level up your copy fast.

24/7 VIP Access in the DMs

Have a quick question about your copy? Need tips on how to outreach? Not sure how to reply to a prospect? Reach out anytime of day in X or Telegram DMs for daily support.

4 Ă— 15 Minute Checkup Calls

Something pressing that’s easier to hash out on a quick call rather? I got you. We can hop on this extra call once every week.

Access to Mentorship Headquarters in Notion

Get everything you need in one place. Mentorship details, step-by-step outreach strategy, prospect outreach spreadsheet, daily checklists, bonuses, resources, and more.

I’m now accepting applications to my waitlist for May.

Interested?

Reply to this email with “waitlist” now.

Only taking on 3 more writers for May.

Join the conversation

or to participate.