College Dropout to Six-Figure Writer

How I did it in just one year.

Hey friend! Welcome to Storey Time. If you were forwarded this email, add your email below to make sure you receive my next issue in your inbox.

Here’s how I went from a broke, college dropout…

To a six-figure digital writer…

Without any followers on social media:

2015.

I just got married.

Married the girl of my dreams.

But, there was one problem:

I was a pizza boy making $12/hour.

I tried college years before, but ended up dropping out.

Why?

I had no purpose or direction.

I was aimless.

My bank account?

Negative.

My savings?

Non-existent.

My debt?

Racking up daily.

My hourly wage?

Pitiful.

How could I provide for my wife?

And…

How could I provide for kids someday?

I’m screwed.

Something needs to change.

So, I started reading:

  • Business books

  • Marketing books

  • Personal finance books

That's it!

I saw there was a way out of my dead-end job:

Start an online business!

So, I tried dropshipping.

And failed.

I tried bookkeeping.

And failed.

I tried dropshipping again.

And failed.

I tried service arbitrage.

And… I failed, yet again.

It wasn’t until late 2018 when I finally snapped.

I couldn’t take it anymore.

Something needed to change.

At this point, I was making a bit more money.

But, not much more.

I was barely getting by living in Vancouver, Canada.

My brother knew I wanted to start an online business.

  • I wanted more time

  • I wanted more money

  • I wanted more control

  • I wanted more freedom

  • I wanted more flexibility

  • I wanted more from life

So, he gave me the best advice I’ve ever heard:

“Why don’t you learn a skill and offer it as a service online?”

Blah.

That was the last thing I wanted to hear.

First of all:

It sounded boring.

Second of all:

Can you even make good money doing that?

This did not sound like it aligned with my vision.

I wanted to make millions with an ecommerce business!

I wanted to do it now.

I wanted to wake up every day to passive income hitting my bank account.

Then all my problems would be solved...

…Right?

I heard my brother’s advice.

But, I didn’t listen to it for years.

That is…

Until I reached a point of absolute desperation.

So, I found a skill that seemed promising.

And I started learning every day:

Web development.

You can make lots of money by pumping out code!

I tried it.

And…

I hated it.

I couldn’t stand writing code.

Back to square one… again.

Months went by.

And my life seemed to pass me by.

Hopeless.

Would I ever live a life of freedom?

Would I ever give my wife and future kids what they deserve?

Am I trapped?

I thought about my brother’s advice again.

Maybe there’s something else.

Maybe there’s another skill I could try.

Oh yeah… I’ve been doing a bit of writing at my job.

What about writing?

Maybe there’s something I could do online with it.

Enter copywriting.

I watched a couple of YouTube videos about writing online.

This weird word kept coming up… “copywriting.”

Huh? Legal stuff?

No. Sales writing. Copywriting is just a dumb name.

It’s SALES WRITING.

You write to sell.

Sell a product, service, idea, whatever.

So, I dove in, head first.

But this time was different than the other times.

It wasn’t like when I tried dropshipping or programming.

You see...

I did something different this time around.

My wife and I had just bought a one-way ticket to Australia.

And... it was due to leave in only a few months.

My back was against the wall.

I had to figure something out.

We were about to leave our world behind.

If I didn’t make something work by the time we left, I would be screwed.

So, from that moment on, I spent every waking moment on my goal.

I was going to become a full-time writer online.

  • Every morning I’d write

  • In the afternoon, I'd handwrite sales letters

  • Every night, I’d devour copy books and courses

I even used my commute to work (1.5 hours both ways) to listen to business and marketing podcasts.

Learning from other people who had done it successfully was crucial to staying hopeful.

And despite working 10-12 hour days at my day job…

I always found the time to make it work.

Goodbye video games.

Goodbye Instagram.

Goodbye Netflix.

And…

Goodbye friends.

I knew that if I wanted to make this work quickly…

I had to be willing to make some temporary sacrifices.

So, I gave it all up.

And devoted myself wholeheartedly to mastery.

Then…

It happened.

6 weeks after I started learning, I landed my first client.

I couldn’t believe it.

I made my first dollar online.

Six months later...

I had my first $5,000 month.

I did it.

It actually worked!

We had enough to survive.

The next month, I made $7,000.

Then $8,000.

Before I knew it, I had reached the coveted six-figure mark.

Just like that, everything changed.

Everything I worked towards for months.

All the sacrifice.

All the early mornings and late nights.

Grinding away before and after my 9 to 5.

I can’t describe how incredible it felt.

To finally do it.

We made it.

Freedom.

And…

I did it all without a single follower on social media.

For years I watched as my friends:

  • Went to college (and stayed in college)

  • Got their diplomas and degrees

  • Landed their career jobs

All while I sat on the sidelines, “falling behind.”

But, now, I don’t envy them one bit.

As a digital writer, I get to:

  • Work from home or coffee shops

  • Travel and live anywhere in the world

  • Spend more time with my wife and kids

  • Have autonomy with the projects I work on

  • Ditch the "3% raise" for more income control

I spent years aimless, as a pizza-making college dropout.

Watching all my friends “level up” in life.

But, the moment I decided to go all in on writing...

Everything changed.

If you want to create a new life for yourself.

There’s no greater opportunity than becoming a writer.

  • Find a writing specialty

  • Devote everything to mastering it

  • And watch as it transforms your life

You don’t need to stay stuck in your job…

Or "trapped" in a hopeless situation.

You can make a new life for yourself.

I’m living proof of it.

Now, it’s your turn.

Are you going to make 2024 your year?

Or, are you going to let another year go by…

While you let your dreams fade away?

If you want a new life…

Just remember this:

No one is going to change it for you.

It all starts with you.

-Brandon “$12 pizza boy” Storey

P.S. Are you ready to take your copywriting or ghostwriting business to the next level?

My June mentorship is starting soon.

I’m going to be working one-on-one with 4 writers to fast-track them to $5-10k/month.

So far, two spots are already filled.

I have two spots left (and I don’t expect them to stay open long).

If you’re interested in speeding up your journey to digital freedom, reply with the word “June” now.

Reply

or to participate.