• Storey Time
  • Posts
  • 3 Reasons You're Not Making $5,000/Month Yet

3 Reasons You're Not Making $5,000/Month Yet

Overcome them to earn a full-time income.

Hey friend! Welcome to Storey Time. If you’re new here, add your email below to make sure you receive my next issue in your inbox.

Before we get started, I wanted to introduce you to something new and exciting…

What is it, you ask?

Drumroll please…

An audio version of my email newsletters!

If you’re ever short on time, and would rather listen to my newsletter, well, now you can.

This makes it easy for you to soak up all the value and info from my newsletter while:

  • Driving to work

  • Going for a walk

  • Cleaning at home

Think of it like a podcast or mini audiobook.

Perfect for passive learning.

Plus, this ain’t no AI robot talking to you.

You’ll get to hear my actual voice — packed full of sweet and juicy wisdom from the life of a six figure copywriter.

Fun, right?!

Just click the play button below and you’ll be able to listen, react, and comment on different parts of the audio newsletter (aka audioletter).

And, if you prefer to read like the OGs, then here we go!

Pre-P.S. I might sound a bit more stern than usual in this newsletter, but it’s because I want the best for you.

Sometimes we need a little tough love to level up!

In January, 2019, I started learning copywriting.

In February 2019, I landed my first client.

The first of 100s of clients.

Since then, I've made $430,000+ as a copywriter.

I've generated $1M+ in email revenue for clients.

I've written 1,000+ blog posts.

And, I’ve landed clients in every way imaginable.

Here are 3 reasons you're not making $5,000+/month yet:

1. Your Writing Isn't Good Enough

This one's going to hurt.

But, for many new writers, they just aren't good enough.

It's not what you want to hear.

But it's what you need to hear.

I speak with copywriters and ghostwriters all the time who are struggling to land clients and get that first dollar.

You want to know the first thing I ask them?

"How often do you write?"

I'm shocked to hear how many people don't write every day but somehow expect to earn $10k/month as a writer.

If you aren't able to put in at least 30 minutes per day into your writing...

...And you're trying to get people to "Follow along my writing journey to $10k/month"...

I'm sorry, but it just isn't going to happen.

You're not going to hit $10k/month.

You won't hit $5k/month either.

And, I'd be surprised if you even land a single client.

If you want to convince business owners to hand over their hard-earned cash to invest in you and your copywriting...

You better be writing daily.

And 30 minutes is the bare minimum.

During my first six weeks learning copy (in 2019), I wrote for about 90 minutes per day.

It took me six weeks to land my first client.

Why did it happen faster than most people?

Because I was putting in more reps.

I got three times as many writing hours in as the guys who only did 30 minutes per day.

30 minutes is the minimum.

If you're serious about making $5-10k/month as a writer, you need to spend time every single day honing your craft.

Go get those copywriting books.

Go invest in courses/mentors.

Go handwrite sales letters.

2. Your Outreach Strategy Sucks

The second reason copywriters and ghostwriters aren't landing clients?

Their outreach sucks.

Please don't use this cold DM approach:

"If I could 2-3x your revenue...."

"Would you be interested in..."

"Would you want..."

If you do, your fingers will be sore from spamming people's DMs, but your bank account will look the same.

I'm not knocking cold outreach. It works.

But, you need to stop doing it the way you've been taught.

And start doing it the way that works.

Use warm outreach instead:

  • It's easier

  • It's not as scary

  • It's more effective

When you're new, you don't have any samples, testimonials, or results.

You have no credibility, trust, or proof.

You need to overcome these challenges by taking the risk off the client and providing free value upfront.

Stop asking.

Start giving.

Give people:

  • Free audits

  • Free advice

  • Free samples

Become a person of value, and your service will be seen as valuable.

It's the fastest way to land paid clients.

It's the approach all of my mentorship students are taking that's landing them clients fast.

Chase got his first client in under 30 days and is now full-time.

Tony got his first client on day 26.

Dane got his first client on day 31.

Be a giver. It's the fastest path to landing clients.

3. You're Not Outreaching Enough

The third thing holding back copywriters from landing clients?

It's volume.

You're just not pitching clients enough.

You could be a great writer.

You could have the best outreach strategy.

But, if you're pitching 5 clients per month, you're going to be stuck in your 9 to 5 forever.

You need to outreach more.

You need to outreach more.

You need to outreach more.

Let me say this one more time for good measure:

YOU NEED TO OUTREACH MORE.

You know J.K. Rowling?

The queen behind Harry Potter?

One of the most successful book and movie series of all time?

Did you know she was rejected by twelve publishers before someone agreed to publish Harry Potter?

TWELVE.

Imagine if she gave up after the twelfth.

Now, I'm not expecting you to get your writing as good as Rowling. You're a copywriter. you just need to be good enough.

Then, you need to stop acting like the world's just going to hand opportunities into your lap.

Instead, you need to go hunt down opportunities. Impose your will. And be persistent.

  • Not everyone's going to be ready to buy the moment you outreach.

  • Not everyone's going to want a copywriter.

  • Not everyone has the money to afford you.

But... sooner or later... if you keep reaching out...

You will land that client.

You just need to swallow your pride and put in the work.

To recap:

1. Level up your writing (and write daily).

2. Provide value in your outreach strategy.

3. When in doubt, go and pitch clients more.

-Brandon “I may not be J.K. Rowling, but I can land clients” Storey

Tired of your day job?

Want to escape?

Maybe you’ve tried to make money with your writing…

But, you feel like you’re spinning your wheels going nowhere?

You don’t have to stay stuck.

You can speed out of beginner’s hell and start making thousands fast.

How?

With my 1:1 copywriting mentorship.

I offer a paid writing mentorship to fast-track you to full-time.

3/4 spots are gone already.

I only take on 4 people per month to ensure I give my utmost attention to each writer.

I only have 1 spot left for April.

Reply to this email with "April" for more info.


In the mentorship, you’ll get:

  • 4 One-On-One Calls With Me (1-Hour Every Week)
    We’ll go over whatever you need at the moment (positioning, copy lessons, live copy audit, outreach strategy, hopping on calls, etc.).

  • Unlimited Copy Audits
    I’ll send you a Loom video breaking down your copy with feedback and optimization tips to level up your copy fast. How often? Every. Single. Day.

  • 24/7 VIP Access in the DMs
    Have a quick question about your copy? Need tips on how to outreach? Not sure how to reply to a prospect? Reach out anytime of day in X or Telegram DMs for daily support.

  • 4 Ă— 15 Minute Checkup Calls

    Something pressing that’s easier to hash out on a quick call rather? I got you.

  • BONUSES

    Not going to share them with you here. But they’re juicy.

Interested?

Reply to this email with “April” now.”

3 seats are filled.

Only 1 spot left.

We start this weekend.

Join the conversation

or to participate.