17 Rules of Copywriting

Follow them to sell like crazy.

Hey friend! Welcome to Storey Time. If you’re new here, add your email below to make sure you receive my next issue in your inbox.

Well, I had my first Twitter “bookmark frenzy” 3 days ago.

159 bookmarks.

It was at least 100 more bookmarks than my previous record.

Why did it do so well?

I’ll explain in a minute, but first, you have to understand something:

Copywriting is a game.

There are rules to the game.

Break these rules and you’ll fail.

Follow them, and you’ll succeed (and make lots of money).

Today, I’m going to dive into 17 rules of copywriting.

These rules didn’t just appear out of thin air either.

Over the last 5 years, they’ve become part of me.

In December 2018, I finally pulled the plug.

My wife and I said, “Enough’s enough,” and we did something drastic.

We booked a one-way flight to Australia (set to leave 6 months later).

We had six months to figure everything out.

So, what did I do?

I went back to the drawing board to all my online business ideas.

eBay dropshipping.

Bookkeeping.

Web development.

Writing?

Ahh, might as well give it a shot.

So, I dove head first into copywriting.

And the more I learned, the more I fell in love.

“This is it…

My ticket to freedom.”

Fast-forward six weeks later, and I landed my first client.

But, it wasn’t easy.

And I didn’t ‘wing it.’

Every day, I wrote and studied copy for 4-6 hours.

I read every major copywriting book you can think of.

I handwrote every major sales letter you can think of.

I studied nonstop. And wrote nonstop.

You can’t win as a copywriter if you don’t take massive action consistently.

You won’t land clients as fast as I did unless you’re seriously committed.

Over my five years as a full-time copywriter, I’ve found that there are certain rules to writing an effective (results-driven) piece of copy.

These aren’t the only rules.

But, they are some of the greatest.

Save this as a reference to come back to every time you write copy:

1/ Stop thinking about selling.

Instead, start thinking about helping. It's the easiest way to sell more.

2/ You can write about the features, just don't forget the benefits.

i.e. Apple Vision Pro:

Feature: “Capture magical spatial photos and videos with Apple's first 3D camera.”

Benefit: Relive those special moments. You'll never have to worry about letting another memory slip away again."

3/ Most people want stuff that:

  • Saves them time

  • Gives them status

  • Saves them money

  • Gives them more money

  • Helps them feel more confident

  • Removes pain (physical, emotional)

Find out which one(s) your audience wants and dive into that desire in your copy.

4/ Copy isn't written. It's assembled.

It's okay to come up with your offer, CTA, social proof, and price before you come up with a hook or headline.

Just make sure to include all the right pieces to complete the puzzle.

5/ Use formulas.

PAS: Problem, agitate, solution.

PPPP: Promise, picture, proof, push.

AIDA: Attention, interest, desire, action.

Use them as a framework and plug in your copy like pieces in a puzzle.

6/ Write for one person with one problem.

Stop trying to write to everyone. Find out everything you can about your audience: their wants, needs, pain points, desires –– everything!

Then write to that ONE person and solve that ONE problem with your copy.

7/ Use storytelling as much as possible.

Stories are your best friend as a copywriter. Use them.

Share how your product changed your life. Share how your product changed your previous customer's life.

They capture attention, keep attention, and prove your product is worth it.

8/ Don't forget to edit.

Read it silently = good

Use Grammarly = better

Read your copy out loud = best

The best way to improve your copy is to speak it out loud. You'll catch mistakes immediately.

9/ Let the copy marinate before editing.

You need to give your first draft time to breathe. Time to marinate in the juices.

If you want to write deadly piece of copy, let it sit for at least 12 hours (ideally 24).

You'll come back to it with dozens of new ideas.

10/ Get ahead of 97% of writers by using numbers.

See how that number caught your attention? Use numbers! Use them in your headline, your intro, and especially to add proof to your copy.

i.e. "Last month, 7 people in our program closed their first $1k client."

11/ You need to use the word "you" (like I just did).

Stop writing like you did in school. Forget third person.

Write to your audience.

It feels more human which captures attention and builds rapport.

12/ Always use social proof.

The easiest way to do this is by using customer stories.

i.e., "Last month Bob was hesitant to try our anti-balding cream, but he gave it a shot, and now his hair is 33% thicker. He said his wife is giving him "the look" more than ever."

13/ Fall in love with marketing and you'll sell more.

Stop thinking like a writer. And start thinking like a marketer.

The more you study marketing, the better your copy will be.

14/ Always include urgency and scarcity.

Tell people the time-based reason they need to act now (i.e "This deal is only available for 48 hours").

And use limited quantities to drive action (i.e. "Only three spots left").

15/ The more you write, the better you sell.

Stop thinking you can get by writing copy a few times a week.

I've spent over 5,475+ hours writing over the past 5 years.

I got my first client around 100 hours of writing. But this skill takes time to master. Put in the reps.

16/ Always include a call to action (CTA).

You need to tell your reader what the next step is.

You're not Don Draper from Mad Men. This isn't brand advertising. You're not here to inspire. You're here to get people to move.

Ask for the sale at the end, or you won't get it.

17/ Join Brandon’s 1:1 mentorship to land your first client in 30 days.

(Had to follow rule #16.) ;)

Last month, I mentored Chase DiMonda.

He was learning copy for months but just didn’t know how to find clients (and how to pitch them if he found them).

So, I worked one-on-one with him doing weekly calls, checkups in the DMs, and unlimited copy audits.

And, it worked. He landed his first writing client in week 4.

And… a few days later he landed his second client!

The part that made me happiest?

Chase did it all while juggling his 9 to 5…

and taking care of his wife and two young kids.

So, this March, I’m taking on four 1:1 mentorship clients.

Earlier this month, 3/3 of my February spots filled up fast.

And, two out of four March spots are already filled.

If you want in, reply to this email now with the word “mentorship”.

P.S. Here’s some love from my mentorship clients:

(Rule #12 in action: social proof)

Want to work side-by-side with me to land your first client?

Reply to this email with the word “Mentorship” now.

Only two spots left.

Prices are increasing next month as well.

Reply

or to participate.